Lesson Learned – I HOPE!

Publication1Have you ever noticed that things don’t always turn out the way you thought they would? Last Saturday I went to Charlotte to attend an informational summit (a different story), and had a great time right up until I stepped out in space and fell two steps, breaking my left upper arm. Now, for those who do not know, I am left-handed. In one careless misstep I became pretty badly impaired (at least for the time being.)

Some lovely new friends helped me to the first care, and as I proceeded to fill out papers with my right hand my new friend said, “Oh, you’re an independent one…”

That comment started me thinking, though. I am independent.  I grew up with the idea that if I can do it myself, I should, and I should not expect another to do it for me. I still think this is generally a good rule, but we all need to be willing to ask for help when we need it. We also need to admit that we can’t do everything.

Two weeks ago I painted the living room – by myself. Why? Because I insisted on it. I did not want to interfere with anyone else’s schedule. My husband tried to help in various ways, wherever I let him, but I knew he had a lot of things to do, so I didn’t let him do much. It took me all week, doing one wall a day. This 69 year old body ain’t what it used to be! My husband has been trying to gently correct this independent stubbornness in me for years, but he has been patient… and I have maintained my stance…

I do believe this issue becomes more obvious and pronounced as we age. It’s hard to accept that we may have limitations we did not have before. I am still in good health, (praise the Lord!) so my arm will heal and I will eventually be back in business. Hopefully, though, I will be more willing to humbly ask when I need someone to give a hand. At least I’ll have plenty of practice in the next few weeks!

Pride goes before destruction, and haughtiness before a fall. Proverbs 16:18 NLT    (OUCH!!)

3 thoughts on “Lesson Learned – I HOPE!

  1. So sorry to hear about your fall. Praying for a swift recovery for your arm. Allan says that God is already knitting things back together. Don’t forget to accept help from Les fromm time to time during recovery. I’m sure he will be happy to help any way he can. 🙂

    Like

  2. So sorry to hear of your fall. We will be praying for a swift recovery. Allan says God’s got His knitting needles out already knitting things back together. May God be with you don’t forget to accept now and then during your recovery. I’m sure Les will be very willing to help in any way he can.

    Like

  3. So sorry about your arm. You did learn a good lesson about being humble. I pray for a humble spirit every day. I think this stubbornness runs in the family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

